DIY AdWords takes time, patience and commitment but it can be done. The steps included below are just the start but if you stick with it, and avoid costly mistakes, after a few months you’ll find your AdWords campaigns will be doing fine with minimal upkeep.
Are you a go getter? A do-er? A DIY hero? Then we shouldn’t be surprised that you’re looking to tackle AdWords on your own. A formidable feat considering even professional marketers struggle. There are many AdWords resources and online courses, including some quite nice official courses by Google. At first glance, DIY AdWords seems like it might even be easy, if a little complicated.
If you want to start AdWords on your own, there is the whole internet in front of you with tips, tricks, do-this and don’t-do-thats. That can be a big time sink of distraction. One second you are studying how to choose the best keywords for your business and suddenly you’re down some rabbit hole on Reddit. So with steady focus and diligence you definitely can begin a campaign. But there is some finesse that goes into AdWords that shouldn’t be ignored. So we want to at least help you move in the right direction from the word go. Go!
“Begin, be bold, and venture to be wise.”
Creating Your AdWords Account
THE most crucial thing to do before getting to any campaign is….to set up your Google AdWords account (obviously). Ok we’re being a bit cheeky, but it is important to take a peek at the interface you could be investing in. Start getting comfortable with the terminology and user-interface. You’ll be spending a lot of time here so you might as well get to know your way around.
Your account will also contain all the info on billing, access, settings and notifications. Google walks you through the sign up process step by step but there are still a few mistakes that many people make when getting started. Take a look at the article below to make sure you start with the right foundation for running DIY AdWords campaigs.
Some important elements to think about are:
How much of a budget should I set aside for my Adwords Campaign?
AdWords is an investment of time and money. There will be hours of learning how it works and being able to structure effective campaigns. And you may not get it right the first time. However, Adwords is still possible with a small budget. Teacup recommends setting aside $10 a day to start. You may go to an even smaller budget per day, depending on how competitive your industry is.
When thinking of what the right AdWords budget is, consider your Cost-Per-Acquisition or CPA. This means how much cost your business incurs for every new customer you add. So mathematically this would be total cost of your campaign divided by the total number of conversions. You could get a bit more sophisticated in calculating CPA, but let’s keep things high-level for now.
Say you spend $300 every month to acquire new customers and you get 10 new customers. Your CPA is $30.
To calculate your budget, think about it from the other side. Consider how much is a customer worth to you (financially speaking). So if a acquiring new customer is worth $30 to you and you’d like to acquire 10 new customers per month then your budget should be $300 monthly or $10 a day. Of course your CPA should lead to a profitable relationship with your customer so consider margins as well as recurring revenue or whether that customer will make word-of-mouth referrals too.
What are your goals?
Why are you running a DIY AdWords campaign? Because its is an endeavor – easy to put aside when it get challenging and easy to give up if you are not seeing the return you may have intended. This will keep you focused, motivated and a good reminder of how to construct your campaign. Do you want to promote a specific product or service? Make the most of a shopping season? To create more awareness or drive traffic to a brand new site? Do you want people to take a certain action? Like call or email your business. Making a decision on your goal will help visitors make a decision about you.
Is my website ready for this?
From searching to clicking an ad to becoming a customer is a multistep process. You may have a great ad, but then what? Your landing page has to entice people to participate in a certain action. If you lead them to your actual website, make sure that it is attractive, user friendly and easy to find relevant information. Have someone take an unbiased peek at your website. So once things get going wherever you link potential customers from ad has a high chance of effectiveness.
Note: If you need landing pages for specific services, no problem! Teacup can automatically create landing pages based on your ad content, effortlessly.
Creating your DIY AdWords Campaign
You created your AdWords account, you feel like you can do this and you’re ready to go! Hold up, wait a minute, there is still LOTS to do. Here is a simple step-by-step process to get your campaign started. You still need to check your campaign type, network, location, bids, extensions, picking keywords, ad groups etc.
Choosing The Right Keywords
Keywords are such an important element in AdWords so we’ll to expand a bit more on this topic. Your ads are grouped by keywords and by similar copy used in your ads. When those keywords are searched by someone using Google, your ad shows up.
Google will suggest that you stuff your ad groups with 15 to 20 keywords but we recommend using Single Keyword Ad Groups or SKAGs (Don’t Urban Dictionary this). Just one keyword instead of putting 20 keywords in one group. Too many keywords makes matching more challenging. This singular approach makes query matching much easier and happen more frequently. Allowing easier relevancy. So the keyword can match exactly, match a phrase or a broad match. The emphasis here is to pick the “root” keyword that describes your business the best. This should also be the likeliest word your potential customers will use to search for what you offer.
Example: Your keyword is wedding videographer in a SKAG, it will show up for different searches like this:
Exact Match: [wedding videographer]
Phrase Match: affordable “wedding videographer”
Broad Match: +videographer for my +wedding
Important to note that keyword does not mean always mean a single word, but it shouldn’t go beyond 3 words to simply describe your business.
Choosing Keywords takes care and mindfulness. These are words as well as phrases that those who want to advertise will bid on. Your keywords need to be relevant to your product or service. The further away it is from what you offer and, the more budget it will eat up. Your Ad will have a headline, description lines, and a display URL. All text used in your ad should be relevant to your keywords, inviting and precise. If your are feeling stuck on keywords here is a Teacup video to help!
Always be relevant, create relevant campaigns, and give the user the answer to his query as precisely as you can
Crucial Campaign Decisions
Still with us? If you haven’t started looking for Youtube videos to distract you or decided to go with an easier solution *cough cough* there’s still lots to do. Here is a couple more tasks that are necessary to get your campaign moving.
Location, Location, Location
Another important element is figuring out where you want this ad to show. Generally, this is the geographic location of the customers you would like to reach (but there are other options too). This can go really large or small. From the whole world to specific towns. Start local, the closer to home you start, the better.
Bid and Daily Budget
While you may have a lump sum budget to set for Adwords you will need to set daily budget as well as a bid. Your bid is how much you are willing to pay for each click or you can have Google maximize it for you. Your daily budget is how much you allow Google to charge you each day.
There are options for setting your bids:
Automatic: This means you allow Google to adjust your bid to maximize the amount of clicks. So it automatically calculates your Cost-Per Click (CPC). This is how much you’re charged when someone clicks on your ad.
CPC = Total Cost / Number of clicks
This will still be sensitive to your daily budget that you set, so you won’t automatically go over a certain amount each day.
Manual: Manually setting your bid helps you monitor your budget a bit more carefully, where you choose the maximum CPC. This allows for more strategic budgeting and more control, making sure bids meet your own style and preferences.
DIY Landing Pages
This is a part of doing Adwords on your own that isn’t emphasized enough. Landing pages are vital to a great customer experience. It should be the first thing that people see before your website. Having a good landing page will help your potential customers to focus on exactly what you want them to. Most of the money you’re investing in AdWords is to get people to convert. The landing pages with the best conversions are those that are closely related to their keyword and ad group.
Important Characteristics for landing pages:
- Have it be unique but simple to navigate: Do not distract your visitor from why they are visiting.
- Have a clear Call-To-Action (CTA): This is where they subscribe, download, purchase or provide an email.
- Be transparent: You want customers to have no hesitation as to what your business does and represents. Think of it as a mutual exchange.
- Remove all navigation: Keep only links to useful information or to a CTA because your page should have one goal. This also removes distractions or getting lost.
Landing Pages are places of opportunities to put action into results for your ads, the oh so valuable conversion. They also help your Quality Score which improves your relevancy in Google Ads. If your quality score is healthy. your ads are more likely be seen.
DIY AdWords – Doing It On Your Own
Big kid time! Are you ready to take off the training wheels? We certainly support giving AdWords a spin, we obviously want you to have successful growth. AdWords is very possible on your own, with some patience and diligence. Our simple breakdown is only the surface of creating an AdWords campaign. But if you would like fewer headaches, giving Teacup a spin may be right for you. You get to be involved in the process but you’re not doing it all on your own.